ISO 14001:2015 Environmental Management Systems

ISO 14001 is an international standard for Environmental Management Systems (EMS). It is intended to provide your organization with the elements of an effective environmental management system to protect the environment and respond to changing environmental conditions in balance with socio-economic needs, which can also be integrated with other management system requirements.

ISO 14001:2015 has ten sections. Three sections are general information for your company about the standard and are not auditable. Certification focuses on the seven key auditable sections:

• Context of the Organization
• Leadership
• Planning
• Support
• Operation
• Performance Evaluation
• Improvement

When your company has implemented an effective EMS you can:

• Assure customers of your commitment to demonstrate environmental management
• Maintain good public/community relations
• Obtain insurance at reasonable cost
• Enhance your image and market share
• Meet vendor certification criteria
• Improve your company’s cost control
• Reduce incidents that result in liability; demonstrate reasonable care
• Conserve input materials and energy
• Facilitate your attainment of necessary permits and authorizations
• Foster the development and sharing of environmental solutions
• Improve your company’s relationships with local, state and the federal government